Is it possible to disable "sharing" for an Activity?

Carol Farlow Lerche cafl at
Mon Feb 2 18:30:46 EST 2009

I'm guessing someone has already suggested this on some list or other, but
in my experience kids like to watch over each other's shoulder, and a
default collaboration of "everyone watches, one person types" vnc would in
my opinion be the 80 of a collaboration 80-20 rule.  I think this ought to
be implemented in the sugar infrastructure, and then let activities that
have an obvious extended collaboration (such as two person games or shared
authorship documents) do something more.

2009/2/2 Wade Brainerd <wadetb at>

> There might be something in the Sugar Almanac, see
> for a link.
> Alternately, an example of how to disable sharing is here:
> Note to Sugar toolkit guys, I'd love to have a formal API to indicate
> "collaboration not supported".
> Best,
> Wade
> On Mon, Feb 2, 2009 at 6:10 PM, James Simmons <jim.simmons at>wrote:
>> First, I want to praise whoever put together the Sugar packages for
>> Fedora 10.  After struggling with Xubuntu and with sugar-jhbuild on
>> openSUSE I finally have a sugar test environment where everything seems
>> to work!  It was well worth wiping out my openSUSE install and starting
>> over with a new distribution.  I'll probably do the same to my Xubuntu
>> box eventually.
>> Second, now that I have this I want to perfect collaboration on my two
>> Activities, Read Etexts and View Slides.  Unfortunately, I am convinced
>> that collaboration in View Slides that involves sending large Zip
>> archives over the network is not and never will be practical.  What I'm
>> thinking about now is making the person "sharing" a slide show see only
>> the image being viewed on the XO that has the full presentation.  The
>> master XO would page through the slides and those sharing would follow
>> along.  I'm not sure that's practical, either.
>> While I'm figuring this out, what I'd really like to do is release a
>> version of View Slides that has no collaboration at all.  This would
>> mean hiding the control on the Activity toolbar that supports
>> collaboration.  When I figure out something intelligent to do with
>> collaboration I'll restore it.  Is this possible, and how would I go
>> about doing it?
>> Thanks,
>> James Simmons
>> _______________________________________________
>> Devel mailing list
>> Devel at
> _______________________________________________
> Devel mailing list
> Devel at

"Don't think for a minute that power concedes. We have to work like our
future depends on it."  -- Barack Obama
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <>

More information about the Devel mailing list