[OLPC library] link from Carlo Falciola "dangerous"

Chris Leonard cjlhomeaddress at gmail.com
Mon Jun 18 12:28:06 EDT 2012

No worries Carlos,

It happens to the best of us, and you are not the only OLPC/Sugar
contributor that this has happened to in the past week.

The Internet is a scary place sometimes and these things happen.  I
wish you luck in regaining control of your identity and identifying
the source, but do not worry, IMHO, your reputation at OLPC/Sugar
remains unsullied.


On Mon, Jun 18, 2012 at 5:49 AM, Carlo Falciola <cfalciola at yahoo.it> wrote:
> Hi all,
> I'm relally sorry for the huge  noise for this rogue message, It was
> definitely a fake, so please throw it away asap.
> I'm still investigating  his origin , because I still not foung anythng in
> my pc.
> The other suspect was my addresses partially stolen via BT from my mobile
> during a business trip in HU...
> once more sorry for this.
> regards
> ciao carlo
> ________________________________
> Da: Chris Leonard <cjlhomeaddress at gmail.com>
> A: jbalcomb at laptopstolesotho.org
> Cc: library at lists.laptop.org
> Inviato: Sabato 16 Giugno 2012 21:07
> Oggetto: Re: [OLPC library] link from Carlo Falciola "dangerous"
> Carlo himself is well-known, he is one of our most prolific Italian
> localizers.
> There was a flurry of messages from his e-mail address to OLPC and
> Sugar litss (to which he is subscribed).  The messages carried
> differing links (I would guess they were all dangerous, but seeing the
> flood, I assumed that and did not actually test).
> The general suspicion is either a (non-intrusive) spoofing by a
> spambot or a compromise of his mail client/account by a spambot
> carried by malware.  Opinions differ, I am of the opinion that since
> it targeted specific lists to which he is subscribed that it was a
> compromise (that grabbed his mailing history or address book) and not
> just a simple header spoof.
> In any event, treat messages (and especially links) from his address
> with suspicion until further notice.  Hopefully he will regain control
> of his identity.
> cjl
> Sugar Labs Translation Team Coordinator
> On Sat, Jun 16, 2012 at 2:27 PM,  <jbalcomb at laptopstolesotho.org> wrote:
>> The link listed in Carlo Falciola's message is listed by McAfee Security
>> as a dangerous website.  Does anyone else know anything about it?
>> Janissa Balcomb
>> Laptops to Lesotho Inc.
>> _______________________________________________________________
>> Library Digest, Vol 49, Issue 1
>> **************************************
>> Message: 1
>> Date: Thu, 14 Jun 2012 05:14:08 +0100 (BST)
>> From: Carlo Falciola <cfalciola at yahoo.it>
>> To: antonella.occhino at unicatt.it, cfalciola at gmail.com,
>>        library at lists.laptop.org, laralazzerini at yahoo.it,
>>        patrizia.masserani at gmail.com, maxcare at hotmail.com,
>>        italia at lists.sugarlabs.org, dcappellani at hotmail.com,
>>        giulianamaccari at libero.it
>> Subject: [OLPC library] (no subject)
>> Message-ID:
>>        <1339647248.15713.YahooMailNeo at web171306.mail.ir2.yahoo.com>
>> Content-Type: text/plain; charset="utf-8"
>> http://www.ap404.com/wp-content/themes/unite/googlemail.html
>> ___________________________________________________________________
>> _______________________________________________
>> Library mailing list
>> Library at lists.laptop.org
>> http://lists.laptop.org/listinfo/library
> _______________________________________________
> Library mailing list
> Library at lists.laptop.org
> http://lists.laptop.org/listinfo/library

More information about the Library mailing list