Kernel git reorganisation

Daniel Drake dsd at
Thu Aug 4 03:56:10 EDT 2011

On Thu, Aug 4, 2011 at 3:08 AM, Paul Fox <pgf at> wrote:
> when you say "delete the branch", does this imply no longer being
> able to look at the history leading to the X or Y tag?

No, "git log archive/olpc-2.6.30" will still show full history, and
"git checkout -b olpc-2.6.30 archive/olpc-2.6.30" will locally
recreate the branch as before.

The only real difference is that you can't commit to branches that
have been archived in this manner, unless you recreate the tag
pointing at a new tip.


More information about the Devel mailing list